PLAIN TOWNSHIP FIRE & RESCUE GUIDELINES FOR OPEN BURNING

Occupant's Name	_ Run No
Location	Telephone No

The EPA, Ohio Division of Air Pollution and Control, has classified Plain Township as a restricted area. Regulations are also governed by the Ohio Fire Code, Ohio Revised Code and the Ohio Department of Natural Resources.

OPEN BURNING LAW:

No person shall cause or allow open burning in a restricted area unless having the

3745-19-03 criteria listed below.

DEFINITIONS:

Open Burning - The burning of any materials wherein products of combustion are emitted directly

into the air without passing through a stack or chimney.

Bonfire - An outdoor fire utilized for ceremonial purposes (i.e.: homecomings, scout programs,

religious ceremony, etc.). A bonfire shall not be more that 5'x 5'x 5' in dimension and shall not burn longer than 3 hours. A legal bonfire requires written notification to the

EPA and a permit from the Plain Township Fire Department.

Recreational/ Camp Fire - A fire for the purpose of cooking food for human consumption, pleasure, warmth, recreational or similar purposes. if all conditions below are met. The pile size shall

not be more than 3' in diameter, and not more than 2' high.

F-307.1.1 - Open Burning Prohibited:

The code official shall prohibit open burning that will be offensive or objectionable due to smoke or odor emissions when local circumstances make such fires hazardous. The code official shall order the extinguishment, by the occupant or the fire department, of any open burning which creates, or adds to, a hazardous or

objectionable situation. *

F-307.3 - <u>Location</u>:

A recreational fire with a pile size of 3' X 2' or less shall not be less than 25' from any

structure. All other open burning shall not be less than 50' from any structure.

3745-19-03-B(2)a - Materials:

Open burning shall not be utilized for waste disposal purposes, and shall be of clean,

dry wood only.

F-307.4 - Attendance:

Any open burning shall be constantly attended until the fire is extinguished and at least one portable fire extinguisher or other approved on-site fire extinguishing

least one portable life extinguisher of other approved on-site life extin

equipment shall be available for immediate utilization if needed.

ORC – 1503.18 No open burning of any kind is permitted between the hours of 6:00 a.m. and

6:00 p.m. during the months of March, April, May, October and November.

- When local wind speeds exceed 15 mph as listed on the "local listing" of the weather channel or NOAA website.
- 2) When the Department of Forestry or other state or local governmental body have declared conditions to be too dry to burn.
- When the EPA or other state or local governmental body has declared atmospheric conditions to be inappropriate.

^{*} Hazardous conditions shall include, but not limited to:

- The Plain Township Fire & Rescue Department investigates open burn complaints and contacts the local EPA authority for enforcement.
- You are advised to call the fire department at 330-492-4089 twenty-four (24) hours in advance of a legal open burn. Contacting the fire department does not grant permission for an illegal fire.
- We will attempt to monitor situations, as needed, to maintain a reasonable number of open burns.
- Excessive fires, with complaints being received by the fire department, shall be classified as a "nuisance" and the applicable laws will be enforced.
- The local EPA authority may be contacted at 330-489-3385.
- Violations are 3rd degree misdemeanors and may be punishable by a fine.

The Plain	Township	Fire & Rescue	Department has	s given me	е а сору	of these	guidelines	for which	I have s	signed
below.										

(Signature)	(Date)